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Motor Vehicle Excise Abatement - Instructions for Filing

There are two (2) pieces of documentation that you must provide in order to be granted an excise
tax abatement. Many transactions can be completed on-line at the RMV web site at
https://atlas-myrmv.massdot.state.ma.us/myrmv/ /.

First, you must bring or send documentation to show what happened to the license plate:

1. Massachusetts Registration Cancellation Receipt, or
2. New Registration showing old plate on a new vehicle, or
3. Lost Plate Affidavit (C-19) receipt.

Second, you must also include proof of what you did with the vehicle:

Bill of Sale from Dealership showing old vehicle traded, or

Bill of Sale if vehicle sold or gifted by private sale, or

Donation Receipt, Insurance Total Loss Statement, junkyard receipt, or
New State Registration if vehicle re-registered in a different state.

If Sold to Relative, Relative Registration

orwdPE

The Excise Abatement will be based on the latest date on documentation for granting the abatement.
An example of this is if you cancelled your plate in September and did not sell your vehicle until
November, we would use the November date; thereby, abating one month from the bill.

If you still own the vehicle, but it is not registered, even if the plates have been cancelled, you still
must pay excise tax on it for the year. If you still own the vehicle next year, you won’t receive an
excise tax bill, but the vehicle can be considered taxable under Personal Property. This is a State
Law, Chapter 60A, Section 1.

If you moved to another Town in Massachusetts, but your car was still registered in Walpole as of
January 1%, you must still pay Walpole. If you moved out of State, you must send a copy of your
new State registration and Plate Cancellation Receipt from Massachusetts.

The tax is due 30 days from the date of issue. Applying for an abatement does not extend the due date of
the bill. Abatements are pro-rated by the number of months in the calendar year after the month the last
eligibility requirement takes place. No excise may be reduced to less than $5.00 and no abatement less than
$5.00 can be made.
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