Board of Library Trustees

Lois Czachorowski (2019) - Robert Damish (2020) - Sheila Harbst (2021) - Deborah McElhinney (2020) - Barry Oremland (2021).

The Library Board of Trustees is the governing body for Walpole's public library. The board has the legal responsibility for the provision of library services, custody of library property, appointment of the library director, expenditure of funds, and determination of library policy. One of the primary functions of a board is to ensure that library services effectively meet community needs. Working with the library administration, the Library Board of Trustees also assists in planning and goal setting for the library.

In March, the Board approved a revised version of the Library's Art Hanging Policy. In June, Shelia Harbst and Barry Oremland were elected to the Board. Mr. Oremland replaced outgoing Board member E. Hunt Bergen, and Ms. Harbst was re-elected to a full three year term. The Board of Trustees organized for fiscal year 2019 with Deborah McElhinney as Chairman, Lois Czachorowski as Secretary, and Barry Oremland as Treasurer. At their June meeting, the Board also approved revised versions of the Library's Museum Pass and Meeting Room Policy. In October, the Board of Trustees approved the FY2019 Action Plan to the Library's Strategic Plan.

The Board of Trustees would like to thank the Friends of the Walpole Public Library for sponsoring the many wonderful programs throughout the year and the staff of the Walpole Public Library for their service to the residents of Walpole. The Trustees would also like to thank all who have helped this year with gifts, suggestions and keen interest in the Library and its functions.

The Board generally meets on the third Tuesday of the month.

Respectfully submitted,

Deborah McElhinney, Chairman Board of Library Trustees